Skip to main content

Architectural Studies

The minor in Architectural Studies examines the form and history of humans’ built environment in diverse cultures, places, and times.  It relies on a foundation of coursework in Art History complemented by up to three courses on architectural or urban topics from any other department. Students thus enrich art historical analysis with methods from other disciplines. The minor also utilizes the built environment of the University and the city of Chicago at large. Architects like Frank Lloyd Wright, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, I.M. Pei, and Henry Ives Cobb all helped design the University’s campus and Hyde Park neighborhood.  This spectacular built environment provides a setting for a distinctive interdisciplinary approach to studying architecture.